Kakatiya Coins and Measures

This book authored by P.V. Parabrahma Sastry is about the coins of Kakatiyas who ruled from Hanumakonda with their capital at Warangal from c.1163-c.1323. They have not only minted coins with their titles but also allowed their chiefs, Governors, Sub-ordinates and even bodyguards to mint coins with their names and titles amazingly. The author is a skilful epigraphist who has tried to identify the several gold and other coins which have been discovered in the past, with inscriptions like “Raya Gaja Kesari” and “Daya Gaja Kesari” with Kakatiya coins. He has proved his argument through the seal of the Khandavalli Copper Plate grant which bears the inscription “Daya Gaja Kesari” clearly. This grant has been attributed to first Kakatiya king Prataparudra. With the help of Khandavalli Copper Plate grant and other inscriptions like the Terala inscription the author has stated firmly that the title of “Daya Gaja Kesari” only belonged to first Kakatiya king Prataparudra and his coins were minted with this title. It also describes weights and measures of coins of other Kakatiya rulers in detail.

Published Year: 1975.

Copies: 80

Price: ₹ 120.00