> Plan your visit > Practical Information

Practical Information

The Archaeological Department in Hyderabad was established in the year 1914 during the time of H.E.H. Nawab Sir Mir Osman Ali Khan, the VIIth Nizam. After bifurcation, the State of Telangana was formed with effect from 2nd June, 2014.

The Department of Archaeology and Museums is the main organization for archaeological research and protection of the cultural heritage in Telangana state. Maintenance of ancient monuments, archaeological sites and remains of historical importance is the major activity of the department including protection and preservation of historical monuments and sites (under A.P Ancient and Historical Monuments and-Archaeological Sites and Remains Act No. VII of 1960).

The Department carries out exploration and excavations, epigraphical survey and publication, establishment and upgradation of museums, conservation of protected monuments and acquisition of treasure troves under the Indian treasure trove act and registration of antiquities under the antiquities and art treasure act.


There are monuments categorized as per the Ten Districts of Telangana.

  • Hyderabad
  • Rangareddy
  • Khammam
  • Karimnagar
  • Nalgonda
  • Medak
  • Adilabad
  • Nizamabad
  • Warangal
  • Mahabubnagar

List of Museums

Museums of Hyderabad

  • Qutb Shahi Tombs Museum
  • State Museum, Public Gardens
  • Centenary Heritage Museum, Abids
  • Khajana Building Museum
  • Multicultural Complex

District Museums

  • Nizamabad
  • Karimnagar
  • Warangal
  • Pillalamarri (Mahabubnagar)
  • Panagal (Nalgonda)

Site Museums

  • Kolanupaka (Nalgonda)
  • Alampur (Mahabubnagar)

Buddhavanam, Nagarjunasagar